Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Cornet Piston no 2760 from Edmund Paulus (Read 553 times)
Henrik
Sitting In

Trumpets, trombones and
tubas . . . oh my!

Cornet Piston no 2760 from Edmund Paulus
Nov 18th, 2016 at 12:56pm
Print Post  
Hi, I have this horn from Edmund Paulus,. Possibly the model no 2760 from the catalogue that is linked to on the horn-u-copia link site. I would like some advise on what to do with it to make in a playable condition.
Also can somebody tell me what it is worth and whatever else you are able to tell me - age - history - type of instrument. I have no experience with horns but i have started learning a 4 note Scala - - - Smiley but it's difficult since the waves get stuck all the time - - -

First of all - should an old instrument like this be polished or should it be left with the years of patina that have been build up on it. I imagine it can be very beautyfull if I polish it all over, or I could just polish the silver parts and leave the brass parts with patina.

The horn had some very nasty dents that reduced the diameter substantielly. I have repaired the dents by dragging plastic or wooden pearls of different size trough the tubes. I believe I have reached a level where the performance of the horn is not affected anymore.

I haven't yet succeeded removing the two small "slides" (dont know what they are called in English language). Does anyone have an idea to how they can be removed. I have tried a shoe lace tied to the tube and then hammering on the lace, penetrating oil, heating up and cooling down the tubes to make them expand/contract etc. - of course I' afraid to damage something so I have been very gently - - any ideas or should I just leave it as is.