Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Hi from England (Read 4699 times)
Griff
Sitting In

Tuba's, Tenor Horn's,
and Cornet's...

Hi from England
May 1st, 2015 at 5:47am
Print Post  
I started playing the Tuba at, the age of 14, an old Hawkes and Son. My parents bought me a new Besson 700 (Made by Boosey and Hawkes) on early 1989. While at University I bought a second-hand La Fleur (Boosey and Hawkes import) Tenor Horn. About 2 years ago I bought a 1979 Boosey and Hawkes Regent Cornet.

I started collecting instruments about a year ago.

I deny this reality.

IP Logged

kenton
YaBB Administrator

Re: Hi from England
Reply #1 - May 1st, 2015 at 12:36pm
Print Post  
Yep, sounds like you've got the bug!

IP Logged

Griff
Sitting In

Tuba's, Tenor Horn's,
and Cornet's...

Reply #2 - May 3rd, 2015 at 9:13pm
Print Post  
Well that's when it started.

I played in a marching band, and decided to buy a second Tuba. After realising just how much one could be. I ended up buying a 1889 Boosey and Co BBb Light Valve Instrument, which had been found in a house clearence. 3 months, later I bought a 1919 Boosey and Co Eb Solbron Tuba, which had been found (a bit battered, and incomplete) in a skip outside a School. After finding out about Joseph Higham's instruments, 2 months ago I bought a c1886 Bb Higham's Tuba (400 mile round trip for it's collection). This had belonged to a person called Pete, who had recently died at the age of 100. He had bought the instrument before World War II, and it is still at High Tone pitch. All three of them are playing again, all have done public performances, but the 1919 Solbron Tuba is currently away having some repair work carried out on it before taking part in Whit Friday at the end of the month.

I deny this reality.

IP Logged

Griff
Sitting In

Tuba's, Tenor Horn's,
and Cornet's...

Reply #3 - May 3rd, 2015 at 9:23pm
Print Post