Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Unclassified Cornet help (Read 5821 times)
YUCMI
Sitting In

Trumpets, trombones and
tubas . . . oh my!

Unclassified Cornet help
Aug 2nd, 2010 at 8:31pm
Print Post  
I am an intern at the Yale University Collection of Musical Instruments and I am interested in finding information about a cornet I found in the depths of our basement. This is part of an ongoing project this summer to update our inventory. Ideally whatever information I find will eventually make its way to the public. If people have any information regarding this instrument or could point me in the right direction please let me know. I play french horn so my knowledge of cornets are modest at best. Thank you all for the help. Photos may be viewed at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/52657788@N04/sets/72157624639517770/

Unclassified Cornet
No engravings or maker's marks. All similar brass material. Relatively advanced rotor valve system - most likely 20th Century. Valves in fair shape which can still be played. Authenticity of Mouthpiece unverified.

« Last Edit: Aug 3rd, 2010 at 5:54pm by kenton »  

IP Logged

OLDLOU
Major Contributor

Enchanted by brass

Re: Unclassified Cornet help
Reply #1 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 1:16am
Print Post  
Closely inspect the Kranz ring,( bell rim reinforcement ). On most of these 19th century cornets the makers name is scratched or engraved on that ring.

OLDLOU>>

IP Logged

kenton
YaBB Administrator

Reply #2 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 1:05pm
Print Post  
It looks very similar to an EG Wright to me.

Probably 1860s.
« Last Edit: Aug 3rd, 2010 at 4:21pm by kenton »  
IP Logged

pryorphone
Global Moderator
repair

Oboes are best used for
setting fire to bassoons

Reply #3 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 3:22pm
Print Post  
YUCMI wrote on Aug 2nd, 2010 at 8:31pm:
Unclassified Cornet